Skip to content

free shipping on most orders over $125 - $7.95 FLAT RATE ON ALL OTHER ORDERS!



Hickory Tree:

  • Hickory trees belong to the Carya genus and are deciduous hardwood trees known for their valuable wood and edible nuts.
  • There are several species of hickory, including shagbark hickory (Carya ovata), pignut hickory (Carya glabra), and shellbark hickory (Carya laciniosa).
  • Hickory leaves are compound and typically feature several leaflets.

Geographic Range:

  • Hickory trees are native to North America, with a range extending from southern Canada to Mexico.
  • Different species of hickory are adapted to various climates and can be found in a diverse array of habitats, from forests to open woodlands.

Growing Conditions:

  • Climate: Hickory trees thrive in temperate climates. They are hardy and can withstand a range of conditions.
  • Soil: Well-drained soil is crucial for hickories. They generally prefer deep, fertile soils but can tolerate various soil types.
  • Sunlight: Hickory trees prefer full sun for optimal growth and nut production.

Caring for Hickory Trees:

  • Watering: While hickory trees are generally drought-tolerant, regular watering is essential during dry spells, especially for young trees.
  • Mulching: Applying a layer of mulch around the base of the tree helps retain soil moisture, regulate temperature, and suppress weeds.
  • Pruning: Prune hickory trees to shape them, remove dead or diseased wood, and improve air circulation. Structural pruning during the early years can help develop a strong canopy.
  • Fertilization: Apply TreeHelp Premium Fertilizer for Hickory trees as a balanced fertilizer in early spring.

Common Diseases and Pests:

  • Hickory Anthracnose: This fungal disease can cause leaf spots, defoliation, and twig dieback. Treat with a fungicides such as Monterey Fungi Max Multi-Purpose fungicide along with proper sanitation practices to help manage anthracnose.
  • Pecan Weevil: Pecan weevils can infest hickory nuts, causing damage to the developing seeds. Harvesting nuts promptly and proper disposal of infested nuts can help control pecan weevils.
  • Borers: Wood-boring insects can infest hickory trees, causing damage to the trunk and branches. Insecticides and maintaining tree health can help prevent borer infestations.

Promoting the Overall Health of Your Tree

To bolster a tree's defense against diseases and insect invasions, it is important the prioritize its overall health to reduce susceptibility. Enhance your tree care routine by employing the TreeHelp Annual Care Kit for Hickory Trees and adhering to a consistent, proper watering regimen.

Comprising three essential components, the TreeHelp Annual Care Kit focuses on ensuring the availability and effective uptake of proper nutrients. Inside, discover a custom formulated specialized fertilizer, mycorrhizal fungal treatment, and a green-up Biostimulant. The mycorrhizal treatment functions akin to bacteria in the human digestive system, breaking down nutrients and moisture into a form readily metabolized by the tree.

Recognize the significance of regular watering. Opt for less frequent, yet prolonged waterings when hydrating trees. The objective is to wet the entire root zone to a depth of 24 to 36 inches, not merely the surface. Unlike brief rains that only normally penetrate 5 to 6 inches of soil, leaving lower roots dry, a systematic watering program proves instrumental in sustaining urban trees. Embrace this comprehensive approach to fortify the vitality and overall health of your Hickory tree.